The Lucille Wert Award

Lucille M. Wert Student Scholarship


To recruit persons into the profession of Chemical Information.


American Chemical Society, Division of Chemical Information


Designed to help persons with an interest in the fields of Chemistry and Information to pursue graduate study in Library, Information, or Computer Science.




  • A Bachelor's Degree with a major in Chemistry and related disciplines

  • Acceptance into graduate Library, Information, or Computer Science program in an accredited institution

  • Library, Information, or Computer experience preferred


In 1989, the Division established the annual Student Scholarship Award to recognize chemists pursuing graduate studies in information, library, or computer science, leading to a career in chemical information. The Award consists of a certificate and stipend. It is usually presented at an ACS Local Section meeting in the vicinity of the recipient's residence or school. The award was renamed in 1996 to honor the late Lucille M. Wert.

To apply, send the following items:

  • Letter of application giving the reasons you should be considered for the award to: Marge Matthews

  • Transcript of Undergraduate studies

  • Three letters of reference

  • Resume

  • GRE scores (optional)

Deadline for Applications: February 1st of the year in which the award is presented.

Past Recipients

  • 2021 Richard Hoang University of Southern California, CA

  • 2020 Winnie Ak Wai Li University of British Columbia, Vancouver, CA

  • 2019 Steve Geier Mount Allison University, New Brunswick, CA

  • 2018 Joshua Borycz University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

  • 2016 Allison Langham University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

  • 2015 Siu Hong Yu Western University, London, Ontario, Canada

  • 2014 Ellen Strobel University of Tennessee Knoxville, TN

  • 2013 Kristin Briney University of Wisconsin Madison, WI

  • 2012 Bin Chen Indiana University Bloomington, IN

  • 2011 Elsa Alvaro Indiana University Bloomington, IN

  • 2010 Yuening Zhang Indiana University Bloomington, IN

  • 2009 Kristin Whitman Landon IP, Inc.

  • 2008 Huijun Wang Indiana University, Bloomington, IN

  • 2007 Andrea Wright University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC

  • 2006 Olivia Bautista Sparks University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

  • 2005 Jeffrey Loo Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD

  • 2004 Amanda K. Fair Long Island University, Purchase, NY

  • 2003 Victoria Wei. Zhang McGill University, Montreal, Canada

  • 2002 Hong Zhang Indiana University, Bloomington, IN

  • 2001 Philip M. Edwards State University of New York at Buffalo and University of Michigan

  • 2000 Susanne Hantos University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario, Canada

  • 1999 Timothy Waugh Indiana University, Bloomington, IN

  • 1998 Svetlana Korolev Wayne State University, Detroit, MI

  • 1997 Margaret M. Buck Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ

  • 1996 Heather Frese University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

  • 1995 Octavia Perryman University of Texas, Austin, TX

  • 1994 Whitney Baker University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS

  • 1993 Linda Halliburton State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY

  • 1992 Robyn Stewart University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada

  • 1992 James J. Heinis University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

  • 1991 Craig Jenkins University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

  • 1991 Hankom Leann University of Iowa Iowa City, IA

  • 1990 Eric A. Johnson Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY

  • 1989 Joan M. Evans Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA